CSS Tabbed Menus Css3Menu.com

September 9, 2016
Oroville Mercury Register
Servicemen News

These articles concerning the activities of local men and women in the armed forces are sent to the Mercury by the public information organizations of the various services and service academies.

Pilot Hill On Duty At Field Zin Tucson
2nd Lt. Clifford Hilll, son of Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Hill of Oroville has been assigned to a field in Tucson, Ariz., according to information received by his parents. Hill visited here recently on a furlough after completing his training at Eagle Pass, Tex. He trained to become a pursuit ship pilot.

Oroville Mercury Register
July 14, 1965
Local Women Travel To Nevada City For Flag Presentation

More than 20 members of U. T. Sherman Woman’s Relief Corps 96 traveled to Nevada City Sunday afternoon to present an American flag to the Nevada County Farm Bureau Women’s unit. The entire program for the affair, which started with a panic luncheon in Pioneer Park was patriotic in theme. Mr. and Mrs. Allen Hahn of Nevada City opened the program by leading the group in singing “America.” Mrs. Hahn, Chairman for the event, introduced Mrs. Marie Smith, who as pro tem president of the corps, spoke on the origin and purpose of the corps. She introduced three members of the department council. Council members are Mrs. Fred I. Gilbert, past national president: Mattie R. Lund, past department president, and Mrs. Charles A. Cooley department chairman of relief. Miss Lund conducted the presentation ceremony,m and Mrs. Gilbert spoke on the history of the flag. Mrs.Hahn gave the acceptance speech. She thanked corps members for making the trip and providing the program. Mrs. Gilbert led the Pledge off Allegiance to the newly pressed flag. This was followed by furling of the corps flag. To close the program, Mr. and Mrs. Hahn led the group in singing the national anthem. Other Oroville residents participating in the outing were Mrs. Etythe Hood, Mrs. George Welch, Mrs. Martha Pugh, Mrs. Lena Vars, Mrs. Anna B. Hess, Mrs. Edna Watkins, MRs. Lucille Taylor, MRs. Ila Madden, Mrs. Ann Wilard, Cecelia Harris, Mrs. Mabel Harney, Mrs. Austin Darby, Mrs. Nellie B. Kruger, Mrs. Rose Ella Wade, Mrs. M.G. Parker, Alice G. Byrne, Mrs. Ada Thomas and Mrs. Floyd Foutch. Mrs. Madden and Mrs. Kruger were co-chairmen for the committee arranging for the caravan of cars.

Stu’s Notes:
Three dates to mark on your calendar Sept 16th -7pm POW/MIA Recognition Day Service at Memorial Hall on Montgomery Street. Sept 17th Motor Cycle Poker Run. and then October 22, 2016 Tri Tip dinner and Dance with the Decades. Please go to our web site at www.orovilleveteransmemorial.org to see what is happening with our project. Daryl Autrey is the Web Master. He does a great job keeping up the site.